Letcher School Alumni, Letcher South Dakota

Home | Class Photos | Minutes

Letcher Alumni Association
2015 Secretary's Report

The 37th All School Alumni Banquet was held on June 13, 2015 at the Moose Lodge, Mitchell SD. 124 meals were served. The tables were decorated with senior class photos made by Sherri Latza Stekl and donated for the banquet.  Many thanks for her donation of photos and use of frames.

Ken Stach welcomed everyone and Myron Sonne led us in a dinner prayer.  After the meal Ken Stach conducted the business meeting.  The secretary and treasurer’s reports were read by Holly Kahle and Tracy Kelly Christensen.  Skip Kahle moved to accept the treasurer’s report, seconded by Nancy Kelly, motion carried.  Connie Bennett Farris moved to accept the secretary’s report, seconded by Cindy Clarambeau Alexander, motion carried.  The Letcher Alumni Association had an ending balance of $3,301.53 after the 2013 banquet with a $348 profit.

Myron allowed each attendee to introduce themselves which was enjoyed by all.  Families of multiple graduates were acknowledged.  The oldest alumnus of Letcher High School is currently Imogene Van Overschelde, class of 1932.  The oldest graduate of Letcher High School in attendance was Eldora Johnson Sonne from the class of 1938.  Door prizes were furnished by Nancy Kelly.

Activities over the weekend were: Tiger Night on Friday evening hosted by Nancy Kelly, Jane and Chuck Amick and Keith Knutson furnished pork loin; Lawn Mower Poker Run by Buckshots, I Believe…We Believe Memorial 5K Run/Walk by Moody-Zoss families and friends; Chili Cook-Off by Jakes; Bean Bag Tournament by Jakes, Lunch and Kountry Bingo to benefit the Letcher Fire Department and Community Center Building Project by the Town and Kountry Kids 4-H Club, and Hadley and the Renegades at Jakes.  Special thanks all who helped with the many activities over the weekend.  It was a fun filled weekend that many enjoyed.

Officers for the 2017 alumni banquet will be Jerry Grabenstein, President and Tracy Kelly Christensen, Treasurer.  Skip Kahle nominated James Sonne for Vice-President, seconded by David Rasmussen, motion carried.  Nancy Kelly nominated Jane Kelly Amick for Secretary, seconded by Skip Kahle, motion carried.  The reunion is planned to be held in the expanded Letcher Community Center on June 10, 2017.

Harvey Fouberg moved to make a $1000 donation to the Letcher Fire Department and Community Center Building Project seconded by Coly Stekl Blake, motion carried.

There be no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Home | Class Photos | Minutes